top of page

Amy Adams talks Ben Affleck as Batman


Amy Adams talks about her sole scene with Ben Affleck as Batman and what he brings to the part in Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice.

Amy Adams had her own unique history with the Dark knight even before Ben Affleck joined the ostensible Man of Steel sequel, Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice. Indeed, she was actually there when Christian Bale first donned the cape and cowl for his Batman Begins screen test. Purportedly, as she played lines off of him as Rachel Dawes (and she would have been so much better in the part, no?), she was brought to tears by Bale’s conviction for the Batman role.

But now Ms. Adams is most certainly Lois Lane, and her very modern 21st century take on the character will be interacting with an entirely separate vision of the Batman, realized by Ben Affleck. While chatting with The Press Association, Ms. Adams reflected on what Affleck is bringing to the role, as well as revealing that she does have one single scene with Affleck in the part.

“He is going to be his own unique thing,” Adams said of Affleck. “He’s got a wonderful quality and a great body of work. I was only in one scene with him; I think I’m allowed to say that. So, I didn’t get to see much, but what I saw was fantastic.”

Adams elaborated about the pleasure she takes in playing Lois Lane again, albeit that she hasn’t seen much of co-worker Clark’s new super-friends.

Says Adams, “We’re not allowed to speak about it, but I just want to tell everybody everything. I’ve spoken about working briefly with Gal as Wonder Woman and Ben as Batman, and had a wholly positive experience. And teaming up with Zack, Henry, and Laurence Fishburne again is so much fun. I like playing Lois; it’s a real privilege for me. I never really expected it. I can’t wait to see it. Just the part I’ve seen looks really exciting.”

I suppose this tells us that she won’t be as integral to the Batman and Superman relationship as Lois was in the DC Animated Universe’s version of their first encounter. While I am all for a deficit of love triangles, I do hope that Lois Lane has as crucial a role to this film as Man of Steel. To completely sideline an actress of Ms. Adams caliber would be its own kind of kryptonite.

bottom of page