top of page

Margot Robbie On Playing Harley Quinn in Suicide Squad


Ahead of bringing Harley Quinn to the screen in David Ayer's Suicide Squad film, Margot Robbie admits "it's a challenge."

The Wolf Of Wall Street's Margot Robbie has no small amount of pressure on her shoulders right now, as she's set to be the first person to deliver a live action take on one of Batman's most popular foes of recent times. She's landed the role of Harley Quinn in David Ayer's Suicide Squad movie, and in a new chat with MTV, she's been talking about taking the role on.

"I guess it's intimidating because there's obviously a lot of people I want to please, and a character I have to do justice. But it's a challenge. I'm definitely up for it, and hopefully I don't disappoint," she said.

That said, there's still some way to go before she steps onto set as Harley Quinn for the first time. "We're still pretty far off," she said, noting that "I'm actually shooting a movie before that. So my focus is kind of on that at the moment. We haven't really got into the logistics of everything yet."

The movie she's scheduled before Suicide Squad is likely to be The Taliban Shuffle, for her Focus directors Glenn Ficarra and John Requa (they also helmed Crazy Stupid Love, amongst others). Suicide Squad, meanwhile, is set to start filming later this year, ahead of its August 2016 release.

bottom of page